The American Football Conference (AFC) is one of the two conferences in the National Football League (NFL). It consists of 16 teams, each with a unique history and fan base. Understanding the geographic locations of these teams not only helps in appreciating the league’s structure but also enhances the overall experience for fans. Here’s a comprehensive list of all the AFC teams and their locations.

AFC East

  1. Buffalo Bills – Located in Buffalo, New York, the Bills are known for their passionate fan base and rich history.
  2. Miami Dolphins – Based in Miami Gardens, Florida, the Dolphins are a team with a storied past and a bright future.
  3. New England Patriots – Hailing from Foxborough, Massachusetts, the Patriots are one of the most successful teams in NFL history.
  4. New York Jets – Located in East Rutherford, New Jersey, the Jets share MetLife Stadium with the New York Giants.

AFC North

  1. Baltimore Ravens – Situated in Baltimore, Maryland, the Ravens are known for their formidable defense and loyal fan base.
  2. Cincinnati Bengals – Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, the Bengals have a history of exciting play and dedicated supporters.
  3. Cleveland Browns – From Cleveland, Ohio, the Browns boast a rich history and a passionate fan base.
  4. Pittsburgh Steelers – Located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the Steelers are one of the most storied franchises in the NFL.

AFC South

  1. Houston Texans – Residing in Houston, Texas, the Texans are the newest team in the NFL, having joined in 2002.
  2. Indianapolis Colts – Based in Indianapolis, Indiana, the Colts have a history of success and a strong fan following.
  3. Jacksonville Jaguars – Located in Jacksonville, Florida, the Jaguars are known for their enthusiastic fans and unique team culture.
  4. Tennessee Titans – From Nashville, Tennessee, the Titans have a strong community presence and a history of competitive play.

AFC West

  1. Denver Broncos – Situated in Denver, Colorado, the Broncos have a legacy of success and a dedicated fan base.
  2. Kansas City Chiefs – Based in Kansas City, Missouri, the Chiefs are renowned for their explosive offense and loyal fans.
  3. Las Vegas Raiders – Located in Paradise, Nevada, the Raiders have a storied history and a global fan base.
  4. Los Angeles Chargers – From Inglewood, California, the Chargers are known for their exciting play and growing fan community.



The National Football Conference (NFC) is one of the two conferences in the National Football League (NFL), comprising 16 teams with diverse histories and geographies. This guide provides a detailed list of all NFC teams and their locations, enhancing the knowledge and enjoyment for fans of American football.

NFC East

  1. Dallas Cowboys – Based in Arlington, Texas, the Cowboys are one of the most iconic and successful teams in the NFL.
  2. New York Giants – Located in East Rutherford, New Jersey, the Giants share MetLife Stadium with the New York Jets and have a rich history in the league.
  3. Philadelphia Eagles – Residing in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the Eagles have a passionate fan base and a history of competitive play.
  4. Washington Commanders – Situated in Landover, Maryland, the Commanders, formerly known as the Redskins, have a long and storied history in the NFL.

NFC North

  1. Chicago Bears – Based in Chicago, Illinois, the Bears are one of the oldest teams in the NFL, known for their storied history and dedicated fan base.
  2. Detroit Lions – Located in Detroit, Michigan, the Lions have a loyal fan base and are known for their Thanksgiving Day games.
  3. Green Bay Packers – From Green Bay, Wisconsin, the Packers are the only publicly owned team in the NFL and have a unique place in the league’s history.
  4. Minnesota Vikings – Based in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the Vikings are known for their strong defense and passionate fan community.

NFC South

  1. Atlanta Falcons – Residing in Atlanta, Georgia, the Falcons are known for their high-powered offense and dedicated fans.
  2. Carolina Panthers – Based in Charlotte, North Carolina, the Panthers have a relatively short history but have quickly developed a strong following.
  3. New Orleans Saints – Located in New Orleans, Louisiana, the Saints have a passionate fan base and are known for their exciting offensive play.
  4. Tampa Bay Buccaneers – From Tampa, Florida, the Buccaneers have experienced periods of success, including winning the Super Bowl.

NFC West

  1. Arizona Cardinals – Based in Glendale, Arizona, the Cardinals are the oldest team in the NFL and have a history of resilience and competitive play.
  2. Los Angeles Rams – Residing in Inglewood, California, the Rams have a history that includes multiple cities and have recently found success in Los Angeles.
  3. San Francisco 49ers – Located in Santa Clara, California, the 49ers have a rich history of success and are known for their innovative offensive strategies.
  4. Seattle Seahawks – From Seattle, Washington, the Seahawks are known for their loud and passionate fan base, dubbed the “12th Man.”


The AFC is home to a diverse array of teams, each representing a unique part of the United States. From the historic franchises in the Northeast to the newer teams in the South and West, the AFC’s geographic spread contributes to the NFL’s rich tapestry of competition and camaraderie. Whether you’re a seasoned fan or new to the sport, understanding where each team calls home adds an extra layer of connection to the thrilling world of American football.

The NFC is a conference rich in diversity and history, representing a wide geographical area across the United States. From the historic teams in the North and East to the dynamic franchises in the South and West, the NFC’s array of teams contributes significantly to the NFL’s vibrant culture. Understanding the locations and backgrounds of these teams enhances the experience for any fan of the sport, deepening the connection to the exciting world of NFL football.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This